World Media Aw2017-01 small

World Media Awards seek entries for 2017 edition

The World Media Awards (WMAs), the only awards said to celebrate the effectiveness of cross platform, cross border and content-driven advertising, are seeking entries for its 2017 edition, the organisers, World Media Group, said this week.

The competition, now running for the second time, has been extended to Africa and the Middle East.

Entries open on 1 December, and all categories can be entered by advertisers and their media, public relations (PR) and creative agencies, while media owners are only permitted to enter the new entertainment and media category directly, the World Media Group said.

There will be eight award categories and a Grand Prix selected by the jury from among the category winners, as follows:

  • Financial services
  • Travel and tourism
  • Foreign direct investment and economic development
  • Technology and telecoms
  • Lifestyle and luxury
  • Automotive
  • Corporate influencer
  • Media and entertainment (new)

Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least four countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented in 2016.

“We could not have been more pleased with the breadth, depth, quality and geographical spread of entries to the World Media Awards in our first year – but we want to make year two even bigger and better,” Rupert Turnbull, World Media Group President and V-P for Europe Middle and Africa Time Inc, said in a statement.

“We are therefore delighted, once again, to have recruited a high calibre judging panel that extends across international advertisers, agency experts and editorial specialists, and to have extended entry categories too,” Turnbull added.

The jury, which includes 20 judges from brands, agencies and media owners, will be co-presided by Ian Armstrong, Land Rover global head of advertising, Sanjay Nazerali, Dentsu Aegis global chief strategy officer with, and Raquel Bubar, director T Brand Studio director at the New York Times.

Turnbull expressed hope that anyone involved in creating bold, creative strategies for engaging with international, influential audiences would enter. “We’ve seen fantastic work coming out of the Middle East and Africa and would love to see even more entries originating from there,” he said.

Nazerali commented: “We will be looking for work with a truly international reach and which creates debate, informs, inspires, engages with specific communities or otherwise really gets people talking.

“Campaigns which demonstrate innovative ways of weaving their story across multiple touchpoints will be highly regarded and, although great creativity is incredibly important, ultimately what we will need to see is proof of effectiveness.”

The winners of the Awards will be announced at the exclusive World Media Awards Reception at the Ham Yard Hotel in London on 6 April 2017.

All shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

All category winners will see their work celebrated in an advertising campaign valued at 500 000 euros (R8.3 million ), which will run across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands: The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Time, Quartz, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Fortune, Forbes, The Economist and Bloomberg.

In addition, a number of the winning case studies will be published in the World Media Awards showcase on the World Media Group website.

Log in to send your entry.

(Loudmouth, Susan Perolls, final editing by Issa Sikiti)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

, , , ,

Comments are closed.