CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year Awards 2013: 2 South African journalists named winners

CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year Awards 2013: 2 South African journalists named winners

The Daily Dispatch, a South African newspaper based in East London, is basking in glory and its top managers have probably not yet recovered from last Saturday’s hangover caused by the surprise news that two of their journalists, Msindisi Fengu and Yandisa Monakali, were named overall winners of the 2013 CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year Awards.

Fengu and Monakali’s winning story, Investigation, School Hostels of Shame, is a two-month investigation which investigated the atrocious conditions that thousands of pupils in the Eastern Cape have been subjected to, while supposedly under the care of the education system, the organisers said on the media competition’s website said.

“The twelve-part series, uncovered hygiene and safety risks in school hostels as well as lifting the lid on shocking levels of corruption. Msindisi Fengu and Yandisa Monakali’s hard work resulted in the suspension of an education department official and government pledge for R13m (US$1.3 million) budget to improve the situation,” the website added.

Category winners:

•    Msindisi Fengu and Yandisa Monakali, Print General News Award, South Africa
•    Nicola de Chaud, Culture, South Africa
•    Adrian de Kock, Mohamed Amin Photographic Award, South Africa
•    Thanduxolo Jika and Media 24 Investigations Team, Digital Platform Award, South Africa
•    Gifty Andoh Appiah, Television News Bulletin Award, Ghana
•    Axcel Micael Chenney, Francophone General News Award – Electronic Media, Mauritius
•    Florence Dallu, Radio General News Award, Kenya
•    Selma Inocência, Portuguese Language Television General News Award, Mozambique
•    Lázaro Mabunda, Portuguese Language Print General News Award, Mozambique
•    Tolu Ogunlesi, The Coca-Cola Company Economics and Business, Nigeria
•    Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye, Environment Award, Nigeria
•    Brenda Okoth, MSD Health and Medical Award, Kenya
•    Nassima Oulebsir, Francophone General News Award – Print, Algeria
•    Passant Rabie, Sport Award, Egypt
•    Roseline Wangui and Wambui Kurema, Television Features Award

Highly commended

•    Lucas Ledwaba, South Africa
•    Rebekah Adwoa Awuah, Ghana
•    Domingos Bento, Angola
•    Thomas Otieno Bwire, Kenya
•    Ibrahima-Benjamin Diagne, Senegal
•    Geoff Iyatse, Nigeria
•    Judy Jeptum Kosgei and Mauritius Oduor
•    Carol Natukunda, Uganda
•    Amon Ngabo, Uganda

Photo: Daily Dispatch award-winning journalists Msindisi Fengu and Yandisa Monakali flanked by CEO MultiChoice South Africa Collins Khumalo and Parisa Khosravi, senior V-P Global Relations for CNN Worldwide. Credit: Dispatch Online

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

, ,

Comments are closed.