600 entries received for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards

600 entries received for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards

More than 600 entries have been received for the annual

2012-2013 MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards, Lumko Mtimde, CEO of Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA), said yesterday, as the adjudication process to determine the finalists gets underway.

The competition’s broadcast adjudicators Jacob Ntshangase (convener) and JP Louw, Nomusa Dhladhla-Mntambo, Martin Vilakazi, Mapule Mbhalati, Bruce Mkhize and Doc Fick.

In the print section, entrants’ submissions will have to face the seriousness of former editor of Die Burger and New Age, Henry Jeffreys, the convener for a panel of judges that includes Lindsay Clowes, Fanie Groenewald, Mr Collin Nxumalo, Professor Gavin Stewart, South African Ombudsman Joe Thloloe and Phindile Xaba.

The Awards, which honour the best of community and local media, will be presented at a gala dinner in Johannesburg, South Africa, on Friday, May 24 2013.

Mtimde said the MDDA-Sanlam Awards do not only promote excellence in community and small commercial, but also enhances media diversity.

Sanlam Group head of communications Ainsley Moos said: “We are encouraged by the positive response we received from journalists who have entered for the Awards, including those from the remotest areas of the country where there are community newspapers and radio stations.

“We look forward to an exciting competition and we hope to organise an event that will be suitable in stature to honour the winners and acknowledge all those who participated,” Moos added.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

, ,

Comments are closed.